KnowledgeNational Days

Canada Day 2020

Canada day is a national Day and a federal statutory holiday of Canada. The holiday, originally known as the ‘Dominion Day,’ commemorates the unification of the three British North American colonies: New Brunswick Nova Scotia, and Province of Canada (consisting of Ontario and Quebec) which celebrates the anniversary of the 1 July 1867 born in the British Empire. The British North America Act officially united the colonies on 1 July 1867 and established Canada’s unified, semi-independent empire. By reality, Canada has become Great Britain’s self-government empire.

on 1 July 1867, Canada became a new state with its own constitution by signing the Constitution Act-formerly known as the British North America Act. Canada became fully independent in 1982. Since 1983, July 1 is recognized as “Canada Day”.

History of Canada Day

On June 20, 1868, a proclamation signed by Governor General Lord Monck, called upon all the lovely subjects of Her Majesty across Canada to enter the celebration on July 1, 1867, the anniversary of the creation of the union of the Provinces of British North America, under the name of Canada.

Since 1958, the government has arranged with the Secretary of State for preparation the annual observance of Canada’s national day. The program included a ceremony on the Parliament Hill Lawn for Trooping the Colors, a sunset in the evening followed by a mass band concert and a fireworks display. The format changed in 1968 when multicultural and professional concerts were added. On 27 October 1982, July 1, recognized as the Dominion Day, became the Day of Canada.


During this day the Canadian flag flies throughout the country, with firework shows, concerts, barbecues, parades, and other patriotic activities. The nation’s largest day of Canada typically takes place in Ottawa, the capital of the country.

Note: This year due to the COVID-19 Pandemic the Canada Day celebrations will take place virtually.

Swikriti Dandotia